RSS Feed

An imagination: Mind without brain


This is just my imagination: the mind without brain.

Some people may think that there is no soul. And the mind is the brain. So when a man died, then his mind will disappear, just like sleep without dream. Therefore, they can do whatever they like, because after they died, there is no more pleasure.

Some people, may believe the existence of soul. But if the mind is not part of the soul, they can still do whatever they like, because after they died, there is no more pleasure, feeling and else.

Some people, may believe the existence of soul. And the mind is part of the soul. And after they died, their mind will remain same as when they are alive. If they believe the existence of hell or purgatory, they may do good, because they don’t want to suffer afterlife.

However, they may also do whatever they like, even they know they will suffer afterlife. Because they think can endure whatever it comes. For example, I am suffering now and feel painful. What I feel suffering is only now, because I forget the feeling of the 3 minutes before. And the pain just continue. If I cannot escape from the suffering, then I can say that I can endure the suffering. Because when I suffered, I also forget the pain before.

We learn something because we use our brain. We memorise something because we use our brain. We can forget something because of our brain.

How about, if the mind is free from the limits of the brain? I mean, if I died, then I can remember everything from the day I was conceived. If it is true, when I suffered afterlife, that means I will not forget the pain I suffered before, and the previous pain will be as clear as “now” though it is passed. Then, how horrible will it be?

==============================

I am not good in expressing my opinion. But the summary is: after we died, if we can remember everything that is passed as clear as “now”, then it will be very horrible if we go to hell or purgatory.

About Allen Choong

A cognitive science student, a programmer, a philosopher, a Catholic.

Leave a Reply

