RSS Feed

USB flash drive partition on Linux


Previously on booting PC-BSD through USB flash drive, I mentioned that I used Linux to perform “dd” operation towards the pendrive.

Yesterday, I just found that, my 8G pendrive now only 2G. There are 6G storage missing. I used Windows’ Disk Management Utility to check, then I found that there were two partitions in USB pendrive. And we know that, we cannot perform partitioning in Windows platform. Try to search from Internet about some information for partitioning USB pendrive, but none of them works.

So, go back to Linux, the most possible solution. Then using “fdisk /dev/sdb” (because my USB pendrive is /dev/sdb), delete the partition, make new partition. Then using “mkfs.vfat /dev/sdb1”. Yes, format my USB pendrive to FAT32 with 8G storage and only 1 primary partition. How great it is?

Bookmark and Share
About Allen Choong

A cognitive science student, a programmer, a philosopher, a Catholic.

Leave a Reply

