Upgrade to Ubuntu 10.10 on HP Mini


This is not an easy work for me.

  1. Firstly, I download the Ubuntu 10.10 alternative CD ISO.
  2. Then, following upgrade using the shell script by following this article.
  3. Restart

No wireless device detected, cannot connect internet through WiFi. What the X?! I used this method before by upgrading from 9.10 to 10.4, but this time fail.

  1. Then use the broadband connect to the internet
  2. System > Administration > Additional Drivers
  3. Download and update certain things, I don’t know what are they
  4. Found “Broadcom STA wireless driver”
  5. Activate
  6. Failed! Ask me to check /var/log/jockey.log

Then I think I need to update everything, so I run System > Administration > Update Manager. Then I asked for “Partial Upgrade”, and needs to download about 200Mb data. Not the good solution. Search solution online. Then I found this.

  1. sudo apt-get update
  2. Then I am asked to insert Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick
  3. So, I mount the alternative CD iso again
  4. Luckily it works
  5. sudo apt-get install bcmwl-kernel-source
  6. Restart

Yeah! Successfully upgraded, and can use the wireless device. But if go to Update Manager, I still need to download 200Mb for the Partial Upgrade. Not good, not good!

One thought on “Upgrade to Ubuntu 10.10 on HP Mini

Leave a Reply

