RSS Feed

My memory editor: Med

Posted on

Introduction

There was a wonderful memory editor in Windows, that was Game Master. But it was not a freeware. And there is a freeware memory editor, it is ArtMoney. But it is also for Windows only. In Linux, there is only one memory editor, scanmem with GameConqueror as the GUI. However, there are some limitations from scanmem and GameConqueror. Thus, that is why I decided to create another one which can fit my needs. Therefore, I recently spent some time to develop this memory editor, namely Med.

This project was actually started because of Android hacking. I wanted to hack the Android game memory. I firstly wrote a program called “hed” (hex editor), which is purely in C language, to edit any binary file from ADB shell. The command-line works well. Then, I was thinking about to create “med” (memory editor) using C++, to edit any process from ADB shell. But it fails to work. However, during the development, it works well on the desktop computer, that is, x86 and x86-64 Linux.

Previously I was using GameConqueror. But I recently found that there are some limitations such as save/open file failed to work with the recent compiled version from the Git repository. Besides that, the memory editing does not work either. And, I also forked the project in the GitHub in order to add in a function, that is to “shift” all memory addresses. But at the end, it is not very useful either.

Med

Med is a result from my years of programming experience. It involves

  • C language as it deals with memory directly
  • C++ as I am using the C++ STL container, strings, and exceptional handling
    • I use strings heavily based on what I learnt from UNIX philosophy (as text is important), Tcl philosophy (“Everything is a string”), and OpenGL (as a state machine)
  • GTK+ (version 3) for the GUI
  • Multi-threading using GLib
  • Linux, as this memory editor only works on Linux and relies on procfs
  • JSON, save and open file as JSON file format. JSONPP library is used to work with C++

Though GTK+ is written in C, it is object-oriented. I do not choose Qt because of my fervent towards C language. And I admit that writing a program using C++ is faster and easier than C. The GUI design is actually using Glade.

Status

Med is still under development. If you want to use, just download and compile it. It is available here.

Memory editor editing memory in PCSX2

Memory editor editing memory in PCSX2

About Allen Choong

A cognitive science student, a programmer, a philosopher, a Catholic.

Leave a Reply

