Arch Linux Xorg failed to run

Today I updated the packages, then rebooted, then the machine got stuck at

[Started] Accounts Service

Seriously, I have had no issues with my laptop recently. And this makes me nervous. It will be troublesome if I have to boot into the Arch Linux LiveUSB. But luckily, searched online, and someone mentioned to change to another TTY with Ctrl+Alt+F2.

Wheew. I still can log in with the command-line. And then I noticed that, the issue must be NVidia driver related.

Since I faced the backlight bug of NVidia 545 driver, I have ignored the NVidia related packages during upgrading. Besides that, I am using DKMS as well. During the upgrading, I didn’t notice the following error

Error! Bad return status for module build on kernel: 6.7.3-arch1-1 (x86_64)

As a result, this causes lightdm failed to run.

With the alternative TTY, I install all the latest NVidia packages (545.29.06) and re-install the Linux kernel, DKMS builds without error.

Reboot, problem solved!

P/S: However, I found that I cannot resume from suspend to RAM properly, though sometimes there is no issue. I can see a black screen with a mouse moving, but not able to change to another TTY. This is super annoying. A similar issue is discussed here.

Leave a comment